IND Vs SL highlights : Asia cup 2023 updates , India reached the final of Asia Cup 2023

IND Vs SL highlights : Asia cup 2023 updates , India reached the final of Asia Cup 2023

IND Vs SL highlights : Asia cup 2023 updates, India reached the final of Asia Cup 2023 after defeating Sri Lanka in the 10th match of Asia Cup.

IND Vs SL highlights : Asia cup 2023 updates , India reached the final of Asia Cup 2023

Asia Cup, 2023 - Match 10

213/10 (49.1)


Sri Lanka
172/10 (41.3)
IND won by 41 runs

India wins in a thrilling match:

The Indian team has confirmed its place in the final of Asia Cup 2023 by defeating Sri Lanka in a thrilling Super-Four match. The match not only took India to its 11th Asia Cup final, but also ended Sri Lanka's streak of 13 consecutive ODI wins this year.

Second consecutive victory of Indian team:

This win against Sri Lanka is India's second consecutive win, before this it had achieved a big win against Pakistan, where they scored a mammoth score of 356 runs at the loss of only two wickets and achieved a surprising win of 228 runs on the same ground.

Low-scoring defense:

After winning the toss and opting to bat first, India was given a tough challenge by the Sri Lankan bowlers. The Indian team managed to post a modest score of 213 runs in 49.1 overs, with career-best performances from Dunith Wellalage, who took five crucial wickets for just 40 runs, and Charith Asalanka, who took four wickets for 18 runs.

Sri Lanka Chase :

In reply, Sri Lanka put up a brave fight but lost and were all out for 172 runs in 41.3 overs. India's Kuldeep Yadav took the maximum of four wickets. Ravindra Jadeja and Jasprit Bumrah took two wickets each, while Mohammad Siraj and Hardik Pandya took one wicket each.

India's records:

After this victory, India set a record by reaching 11th position in the Asia Cup final. Earlier, India had reached in 1984, 1988, 1990, 1995, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2010, 2016, 2018, in which 2016 and 2022 were in T-20 format.

India also holds the record for the most number of Asia Cup wins, winning the title seven times in 1984, 1988, 1990, 1995, 2010, 2016 and 2018.

India's aggressive bowling:

India's fast bowlers got off to a great start. Thanks to the efforts of Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj, 3 Sri Lankan batsmen were out for just 25 runs. However, spinners Kuldeep Yadav and Ravindra Jadeja maintained the pressure and took wickets continuously.

India's victory was in danger for some time due to the 63-run partnership for the seventh wicket between Dunith Wellalage (42 not out) and Dhananjay de Silva (41), but Jadeja broke this partnership and Sri Lanka's innings faltered. .

Valor of Dunith Wellalage:

20-year-old left-arm spinner Dunith Wellalage emerged as a star for Sri Lanka, dismissing key Indian batsmen including Shubham Gill, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma in his first three overs. He took five wickets, which is his first five-wicket haul in ODIs.

Charit Asalanka increased the problems for India by dismissing important players like Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah and Kuldeep Yadav.

The game stopped due to rain:

The 47th over of the first innings was interrupted due to rain, causing a delay of approximately 50 minutes. When the match resumed, Axar Patel contributed 26 runs and made a 27-run partnership with Mohammed Siraj (5 not out) for the last wicket, taking India's total to 213 runs.

New record of Rohit Sharma:

Indian captain Rohit Sharma achieved an important achievement by crossing the 10,000-run mark in ODIs in his 248th match. He achieved the feat in just 241 innings, making him the second fastest player to reach the feat after Virat Kohli (205 innings). This achievement put him ahead of great cricketers like Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Ricky Ponting, Jacques Kallis, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Brian Lara, Chris Gayle, Rahul Dravid who is the current coach of India.

──── End ────